Adventures in Generosity

The occasionally coherent ramblings of a Stewardship Advisor in the Church of England

The Annual Review

So here we go; 150ish words for the annual review.

We had to come up with a ‘tagline’ so I chose this one (well, actually I nicked it from my own church but shhhhhhhh)

“Carry each others burdens and in this way you will fulfil the law of Christ” Galatians 6:2

“There is no doubt that these are challenging times in which to ask people to think about their Giving.

But it is also true that many individuals and churches in our Diocese are making an awesome and sacrificial effort to support the mission of our church and we need to give thanks every day for the hard work and sacrifice of all who give of their time, talents and treasure.    

The average weekly gift in our parishes this year was £8.10 and I know that in many parishes giving is much higher whilst in others this figure must feel like an unattainable goal.  I also know that behind this figure lies the incredible work of an army of dedicated and talented volunteers.

The beauty of Gods church is that we are each called to support one another in whatever way we are able and I look forward to supporting you and being supported by you in resourcing our churches to spread the Gospel in the year to come.” 

It’s hard not to be trite in 150 words, and I also think I’ve let em off the hook a bit (average weekly gift is about 3.4% of income – come on guys !) but I am the new girl and I’m trying to get them to like me before I hit them with reality !

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

