Adventures in Generosity

The occasionally coherent ramblings of a Stewardship Advisor in the Church of England

Day Two over – and facing the hump.

So, a few people have commented on Facebook that my stir fry rice and veg actually looks rather tasty.

And they aren’t wrong – in fact it’s going to be a regular firm favourite round our house judging by the families reaction last night.

But I think I may not eat it for a month or so after this week. 

Similarly, I rather like a boiled egg for breakfast and I’m also very fond of chick pea and potato curry.

However – today will be day 3.  The third egg and a slice of dry toast for breakfast. The third portion of chick peas and potatos and the 1,2,3,4 5th portion of rice. And I’m only half way there.

teamondayteamondayteamonday

Food.

The planning of a menu for friends, the shopping, the preparing and, of course, the eating. I grew up in a catering family;  food is one of the greatest joys of my life.  The variety, the smell, taste, texture and colour – in our country we are surrounded by it every day, it’s in our supermarkets, in our bookshops, on our televisions. It is plentiful, it can (for most of us – see Mondays blog) be reasonably cheap, but it’s the variety that we probably take most for granted. If I have the money I can walk 10 minutes from home and buy ingredients for a meal from any cuisine in the world (ok I’m exagerating a bit).

But on £1 a day I have no choice – I can afford 2 or possibly 3 basic meals – food is reduced from one of Gods greatest blessings to simple fuel for my engine.

And a little of lifes joy is taken away – for 1.4 billion people around the globe – the variety of tastes, textures, colours and aromas that food provides, the opportunities for sharing, for savouring, for celebrating life in all its abundance- are simply not an option.

So – if you are enjoying this blog and find my challenge in any way interesting or inspiring  – please remember why I’m doing it. Please sponsor me to support Christian Aid in alleviating some of this needless (and it is needless)  suffering.

www.livingbelowtheline.com/me/twurchsteward.

Thank You

1 Comment»

  allbuthomeless wrote @

🙂 It did look good. I like chick pea PERIOD. My favorite is cuban style soup tho with tomatoes. You are doing GREAT!


Leave a Reply

